The 8th edition of the Pearl International Film Festival took place at the National Theatre in Kampala, on Friday night. The star studded event saw Ugandan filmmakers converge to celebrate the best in their industry.

Top award contenders in most categories were ‘The Forbidden’ by director Samuel Kizito Saviour and ‘Kony Order From Above’ by director Ayeny T. Steve of Atonga Media, among other nominees in various categories.


The legendary Raymond Rushabiro, scooped the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Leilah Nakabira who plays the lead role in ‘The Forbidden’, scooped the Best Actress Award. The film ‘Kony Order From Above’ scooped a total of 7 awards, making it the big winner of the night.

Here’s the full list of winners. We congratulate the nominees and winners as well!


Best Makeup and Costume Design
Kony Order From Above

Best Production Design
Kony Order from Above

Best Animation Award
Waiting (Thailand)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Raymond Rushabiro ‘Raymo’

Best TV Drama Award
The Honorables

Best Cinematography Award
Kony Order From Above

Best Supporting Actor Award
Awio Jifony Okello ( Kony Order From Above)

Best Supporting Actress Award
Nodryn Evanci ( The Forbidden )

Best Documentary Award
Room 140 (USA)

Best Edit Award

Best Screenplay Award
The Forbidden

Best Short Film Award goes to
Forget Me Not (South Africa)

Best Non Ugandan Film Award

Best Actress Award
Leilah Nakabira ( The Forbidden )

Best Actor Award
Canpapo Ebil ( Kony Order From Above )

Best Sound Design Award
Days To Live

Best Director Award
Ayeny T. Steve ( Kony Order From Above )

Best Feature Film Award
Kony Order From Above

Pearl International Film Festival Director’s Award
Nampala Claire


Please follow and like us:
  1. Pearl international film festival is by far the most authentic film festival in Uganda.

Leave a Reply