The 7th Kalasha International Awards 2017 was a star-studded ceremony held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Nairobi on Saturday evening.

The annual awards presented by the Kenya Film Commission this year were backed by other great partners including the Kenya Film Classification Board and The French Embassy. The event was hosted by Joey Muthengi and Maqbul Mohammed, who are both actors and radio/tv presenters. The Chairman of the Kenya Film Commission, Chris Foot, gave his opening speech welcoming guests to the occasion.

Actors, filmmakers, media personalities and the creative industry at large were well represented, all delightfully dressed up for the prestigious ‘Kenyan Oscars’ as many refer to it. Musician Dan Aceda opened the event with a stunning music performance.

The industry paid tribute to renowned wildlife filmmaker Alan Root who passed on in August this year at age 80. He is celebrated and remembered for his contribution in the film industry through his numerous works. On the other hand, the Lifetime Achievement Award was given to a man who has devoted himself to the industry for 33 years.

The big winner of the night was Kati Kati a film directed by Mbithi Masya, scooping a number of awards including Best Feature Film.

We congratulate all the winners and nominees as well. Well done. Hongera!

Here’s the full list of winners!

Best Actress – Anita Kavuu Ng’ang’a (Chebet)

Best Actor – Frank Kimani (Uyu Ni Mwariguo)

Best Feature Film – Kati Kati

Best Lighting Technician – Gregory Maole

Best East African Film – Breaking With Customs

Best Director – Mbithi Masya (Kati Kati)

Best Original Screenplay – John Kararahe (Kidnapped)

Best Local Language Film – Pendo

Best Director Of Photography – Andrew Mungai

Best Short Film – Uyu Ni Mwariguo

Best Editor – Louiza Wanjiku (Kati Kati)

Best Special Effects – Kati Kati

Best Production Designer – Emmanuel Mrabu

Best Animation Award – The XYZ Show

Best Diaspora Film – Born This Way

Best Sound Design – Florian Holzner (Kati Kati)

Best Documentary – Sound Man

Best Supporting Actress – Wanjiku Njoroge (Uyu Ni Mwariguo)

Best Supporting Actor – Antony Ndung’u (Maria)

Lifetime Achievement Award – Joseph Kioni

Best Watershed Compliant Station – Miracle TV

Best Student Feature – Detox (Moi University)

Best Actor TV Drama – Martin Githinji (Sue na Jonnie)

Best Actress TV Drama – Catherine Kamau (Sue na Jonnie)

Best Student Documentary – Gifted Soul

Best Local Content Station – K24 TV

Best TV Drama – Sue na Jonnie

Best Comedy – HullaBaloo Estate

Best TV Host – Teddy Muthusi (KCB Lion’s Den)

Best TV Commercial – Faiba

Best TV Documentary – Matwana Culture

Best Performance TV Comedy – Bilal Wanjau (Jela 5 Star)





Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply